Board of Directors

Steven M. Paul, M.D.

Steven Marc Paul, M.D., was named executive vice president for science and technology and president of Lilly Research Laboratories, a division of Eli Lilly and Company, in June 2003.   He was a member of the company's senior management forum and the corporate policy committee.   He joined Lilly in April 1993 as vice president of central nervous system discovery and decision phase medical research in LRL and was named vice president, therapeutic area discovery research and clinical investigation, in 1996. He had been group vice president of therapeutic area discovery research and clinical investigation for Lilly Research Laboratories since May 1998. Paul retired from Lilly Research Laboraties in February 2010.

Paul received a Bachelor of Arts degree, magna cum laude with honors, in biology and psychology from Tulane University in 1972.   He received a Master of Science degree in anatomy and neuroanatomy and his doctor of medicine degree, both in 1975, from the Tulane University School of Medicine.   Following an internship in neurology at Charity Hospital in New Orleans, he served as a resident in psychiatry and an instructor in the department of psychiatry at The University of Chicago, Pritzker School of Medicine.   Prior to joining Lilly, Paul served as scientific director of the Intramural Research Program of the National Institute of Mental Health, in Bethesda, Maryland; professor of psychiatry at Tulane University School of Medicine; and chief of the clinical neuroscience branch, as well as chief of the section on preclinical studies at NIMH.

Paul is a member of various professional societies, which include the Tulane Scholars and Fellows, Phi Eta Sigma, Alpha Epsilon Delta, Sigma Xi, Phi Beta Kappa, and the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Society.   He is the recipient of many honors and scientific recognitions, including The A. E. Bennett Award of the Society of Biological Psychiatry, the Arthur S. Flemming Award by the Downtown Jaycees (outstanding research by a U.S. government employee), the Allan C. Davis Medal (Outstanding Young Scientist Award) of the Maryland Academy of Sciences, the Foundations' Fund Prize for Research of the American Psychiatric Association, the Daniel H. Efron Award of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology, the Max Hamilton Award of the Collegium Internationale Neuro-Psychopharma-cologicum, and The Distinguished Service Medal of the United States Public Health Service.   In 1997, Paul was elected to membership in the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.

Paul has authored or coauthored more than 450 papers and invited book chapters and serves on the editorial boards of numerous scientific journals and as a grant reviewer for several extramural and intramural committees.   He is currently a member of the National Institutes of Health's advisory committee to the director (ACD).   He has been listed as one of the most highly cited neuroscientists in the world (1980-2000) by the Institute for Scientific Information (I.S.I.) in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.